Most excited newbie EVER!!!

My amazing (and obviously more attentive than I realized) husband is getting something for me that I’ve wanted for about a year now…. A sport pole! I’ve been addicted to pilates for almost 2 years now, and LOVE the results I’ve gotten, but have been looking for something fun to add to my workouts. I recently went to check out a local pole studio and took an intro class there and fell in LOVE! What better way to boost confidence, continue to build lean muscle AND have hubby on board with a new hobby? 😉

I did a lot of research into which pole is best for home. I wanted something that wont do any damage to the floors or ceilings, can be easily taken down (we don’t have any extra rooms in our home so it will have to be put up in our dining room…haha, not something I want to keep up when we have company over!) and can be static or spinny. The result? X-Pole! They have different grips (chrome & titanium gold), diameter sizes (45mm & 50mm), and static poles or poles that are both static & spin. They explain on the site what each option is for, but here is the run down:

  • I decided to get chrome finish. Titanium gold gives a better grip which makes it easier for climbs and inverts. Chrome isn’t as easy to grip, however makes it easier to do spins.
  • Size wise, I decided on 50mm. The smaller 45mm pole is easier for smaller hands to grip, but is not as easy to hang on with your legs doing climbs and inverts once you are more advanced. I figure over time my hands and wrists will get stronger and I will be able to better grip the pole. Also, from what I have read, 50mm is the “standard” size …and it is easier to go from 50mm to 45mm than the other way around.
  • As far as choosing the X-Pert over X-Sport– I’m going to begin on static mode to get a feel for all the basics & get comfortable on it. Doing tricks on static is very different than doing tricks on spinny and to do both you use different muscles (so I’ve heard!) Eventually I want to master both modes, so I figure I may as well go ahead and get the X-Pert.

I am SOOO EXCITED! I’ll update my blog again once it arrives 🙂


About Kat

If I had to choose one word to describe myself, it would be eclectic. I like a little bit of everything and I do a little bit of everything. :) Some of my current favorite things to do are: spend time with my husband and daughters, work my home based business (http://rippedwraps.myitworks.com), play with makeup and nail polish, work out (pilates, Jillian Michaels DVDs & pole dance/fitness), play Halo Reach & Zombies (COD) on xbox 360, living on the lake & blogging! I love my family more than life itself...and I will guard and protect them with my life. I've also learned to start standing up for myself (thanks to one of my mentors!) and tell people to back off when they try to hurt me or my family. My childhood abuse no longer defines me, thanks to my Savior Jesus Christ...and as a result of giving ALL parts of my life to Him, I have more peace and joy than I can ever remember having!

Posted on December 2, 2010, in Pilates, Pole Dancing. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

