Progress – Month 1

It’s been a month since I started poling regularly…I’m a total addict! I haven’t gotten many tricks down yet, as beginners should focus on strength-building prep exercises before being strong enough to grip and hold your own body weight up properly without injuring yourself. Some spins shouldn’t even be attempted before being certain the strength is there!

Here is a list of my 1st month’s accomplishments and a couple of goals I’m aiming for once the basics are effortless:

Pole Sit – I had the pole sit with no hands within 2 weeks, but then I slacked off and didn’t pole sit for the next 2 weeks… so now it burns again. Oops!

Pole Climb – This is something I am trying to do, but it takes soooo much more strength than I thought! And it doesn’t help that my ceilings are low (7’6″) so I don’t really have a whole lot of pole to practice climbing! Working on this one every time I practice.

Basic Invert – I’ve finally inverted (without jumping into it)! YES! I actually accomplished this one yesterday! 😀

Elbow Stand – Another one I got yesterday. I have the balancing skills of a drunk giraffe, so I was REALLY excited about this one! I wanna eventually do this without the pole for “backup”. I can feel my upper back and shoulders getting stronger from doing this one.

Plank – Currently working on the plank/layback. Once the burn goes away from pole sitting, I’m pretty sure I’ll have this one!

Butterfly Invert – I’m going to stick with doing the basic invert for another week, so it becomes more effortless… then go for the Butterfly!

Spins – I’ve gotten a few spins figured out, albeit not nearly as solidly or gracefully as I would like! Here’s a video with clips of all the spins I’ve accomplished so far. Some of them are on static and some are on spinny. I like to do a little of each so I can hopefully stay used to grip and momentum on either. (Also yes I am fully clothed in the video…I do tricks & strength training in a cami/sports bra & boyshorts, but skin isn’t necessary to practice spins, and I save the skin videos for my husband 😛 )

About Kat

If I had to choose one word to describe myself, it would be eclectic. I like a little bit of everything and I do a little bit of everything. :) Some of my current favorite things to do are: spend time with my husband and daughters, work my home based business (http://rippedwraps.myitworks.com), play with makeup and nail polish, work out (pilates, Jillian Michaels DVDs & pole dance/fitness), play Halo Reach & Zombies (COD) on xbox 360, living on the lake & blogging! I love my family more than life itself...and I will guard and protect them with my life. I've also learned to start standing up for myself (thanks to one of my mentors!) and tell people to back off when they try to hurt me or my family. My childhood abuse no longer defines me, thanks to my Savior Jesus Christ...and as a result of giving ALL parts of my life to Him, I have more peace and joy than I can ever remember having!

Posted on January 16, 2011, in Pilates, Pole Dancing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

