Progress (Month 2, Part 1)

This first accomplishment, I feel, deserves a post of it’s own… haha. I am so excited to say… I CAN DO 4 PULL UPS!!! (Technically, they are called “chin ups”, the easy version…but the actual “pull ups” are with palms facing away, and I can do TWO of those!) I have never practiced chin ups/pull ups alone, or done any kind of weight lifting or bench pressing. I have accomplished this progress by simply POLE DANCING! Love love LOVE this! I was elated to randomly & half-heartedly try some stuff on the pull up bar over the kitchen door the other day…to find out how easy it was to do them!!! Before poling, I NEVER in my whole life have been able to do a single pull up or chin up. And anyone who has tried these for the first time knows how difficult it is to lift your own body weight! Lifting weights and bench pressing is a totally different strength than lifting your body weight. (Thank you pole dancing!!!)

The second accomplishment, I was *almost* as excited about 🙂 I got the “Beginner’s Plank”! (AKA – layback). I think this move is so pretty, but man does it BURN! I thought pole sitting was rough on the skin. HA. And the Advanced Plank (where the grip is below/under you instead of above you) is said to burn even more. Aahhh, fun. lol. The burn will go away with time and practice…and it is SO worth it! The feeling of FINALLY nailing a move is fabulous! Lots of happy dancing. haha!

Still getting more comfortable with inverting…something about being upside down is unnatural I think, haha, so progressing with inverted tricks is a bit on the slow side….(hoping for the Butterfly soon!)

I will update my progress again in another 2 weeks 🙂

About Kat

If I had to choose one word to describe myself, it would be eclectic. I like a little bit of everything and I do a little bit of everything. :) Some of my current favorite things to do are: spend time with my husband and daughters, work my home based business (http://rippedwraps.myitworks.com), play with makeup and nail polish, work out (pilates, Jillian Michaels DVDs & pole dance/fitness), play Halo Reach & Zombies (COD) on xbox 360, living on the lake & blogging! I love my family more than life itself...and I will guard and protect them with my life. I've also learned to start standing up for myself (thanks to one of my mentors!) and tell people to back off when they try to hurt me or my family. My childhood abuse no longer defines me, thanks to my Savior Jesus Christ...and as a result of giving ALL parts of my life to Him, I have more peace and joy than I can ever remember having!

Posted on February 4, 2011, in Pilates, Pole Dancing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

