February Progress (30 Day Shred)

Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred Update

I’m on Day 18 of the 30 Day Shred. I am on the 8th day of level 2… I REALLY like level 2, so much more than the first level. The first one was good, but it just drained me much more. I think the cardio seems toned down a little in level 2. Level 2 is also more pilates based, which of course I LOVE! There are some plank exercises and also some leg lifts.

The only thing that bothers me on these workouts is that although Jillian touches on having good form a LITTLE in order to prevent injuries…she doesn’t explain how much more EFFECTIVE these exercises would be with proper form! For example, with the planks, it is important to have your shoulders directly over your hands and keep your body in a straight line…abs engaged, butt down, neck aligned too! This keeps the stress OFF of your knees and ankles, but works your shoulders, arms, abs and back.

Another example, the leg lifts: these are more effective in toning your lower abs if you keep your abs engaged & do NOT arch your back at ALL. It is extremely difficult, but this tones that “natural corset” of inner muscles on your back and tummy sooo much more. In pilates class, my instructor told us beginners to not even worry about bringing your feet all the way to the floor, but rather go from legs straight up in the air, to legs at a 45-degree angle, just to ensure you can keep your spine in a neutral position.

Last example, crunches: in the first level, Jillian DOES mention an important key for proper form for crunches. She says “the neck is NOT invited to this party!” In order to keep from straining your neck & instead keeping the abs completely engaged, you do not want to bring your chin into your chest. Keep your neck as straight as possible and your eyes on the ceiling. The one thing she doesn’t mention, however, is to keep your elbows APART. Don’t allow them to go upward/inward at all, rather keep them as far away from your head as possible.

I’ve included a video with some tips on form, since I know some people are more visual than others. Hope it is helpful!

About Kat

If I had to choose one word to describe myself, it would be eclectic. I like a little bit of everything and I do a little bit of everything. :) Some of my current favorite things to do are: spend time with my husband and daughters, work my home based business (http://rippedwraps.myitworks.com), play with makeup and nail polish, work out (pilates, Jillian Michaels DVDs & pole dance/fitness), play Halo Reach & Zombies (COD) on xbox 360, living on the lake & blogging! I love my family more than life itself...and I will guard and protect them with my life. I've also learned to start standing up for myself (thanks to one of my mentors!) and tell people to back off when they try to hurt me or my family. My childhood abuse no longer defines me, thanks to my Savior Jesus Christ...and as a result of giving ALL parts of my life to Him, I have more peace and joy than I can ever remember having!

Posted on March 1, 2011, in Fitness, Pilates. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I just now saw this! Thanks for teh video form examples.

Leave a Reply

