Counting Calories & Losing Weight

My main reason for eating better is simply for that: eating better! Our bodies are not made to process foods that are artificial or have been processed/refined. And many things that we ingest are full of toxins. I want to cut as much of that out of my diet as possible.

However, out of sheer curiosity, I started keeping a food diary of sorts. Since Friday, I’ve tracked everything I’ve eaten and how much I’ve worked out. I know, that in order to make sure I am as accurate as possible, I would need a heart rate monitor with a calorie counter. I am not going to spend money on one though, so have estimated as closely as possible with an app on my iPod. The first couple times I used it to determine how many calories I need to have per day, it told me 1400 (for moderate activity) & 1600 (extreme activity). Friday, I tried going by 1400 and just about starved. Needless to say, at the end of the day when I realized 1400 couldn’t be right, I had double portions of tilapia & veggies & rice for dinner…aaahhh, food… Saturday, 1600, felt better but still a little hungry. So, I went online to check out 5-6 different calorie calculators to see what I could find out. My metabolism is ridiculously fast too, so I should have known 1400 was NOT going to work! So anyway, after researching a bit more, my calorie intake with my level of activity, age, weight, height, etc…is more like 2200. Thank the Lord! It is SO important to check into what works for YOU if you are going by calories. I think my iPod app assumed I wanted to lose weight… so if you want to lose weight, yes, 1200-1500 is probably what you want. But I’m trying to maintain my weight…and not starve! Be certain you know what is best for your needs and health!

Which brings me to the second thing on my mind tonight! The scale and losing weight. Ugh! I’m soooo tired of women going by “the number”! You know, the magical little number everyone wants to see pop up on the scale! *ESPECIALLY* if you are doing ANY kind of plyometric/calisthenics workout! What is it that you TRULY want? To look and feel your best, right? My experience was this: After baby number 1, I kept my last 15 lbs of baby weight. I became more active and took up a pilates class. I started losing inches, but my weight stayed the same. I was fine with that because I was looking better. Baby number 2 came along in the middle of my pilates addiction. I kept doing some basic, sometimes modified, pilates throughout my pregnancy. I was SHOCKED looking in the mirror the same day I delivered my 2nd daughter. I looked so much better than I did after my 1st. Still definitely had some work to do post-baby, but there was a noticeable difference! I slacked off of my working out for 3 months after my 2nd was born, life happened, stress happened, chasing after a toddler while caring for a newborn, etc… I lost all the baby weight, all the way down to my wedding day weight of 105 lbs. I was still not happy with the way I looked and especially unhappy with how I felt! I felt weak, and I was so flabby and squishy! haha. Yes, I was “thin”, but not the “thin” I wanted to be. I picked up my pilates again last June… I started pole fitness in December… and I’m on day 23 of the 30 Day Shred. All of this and I look and feel SO much better…and guess what? I weigh MORE! 108 lbs, and I am really hoping to continue to workout and maintain 110 lbs.

Here is my point: If you are doing a combination of resistance/weights and cardio, then you are NOT going to see that number move for a while. However, you WILL see your body change for the better! Do not give up just because of some silly number! You will lose inches because you are burning the fat (what we DONT want), but you will probably maintain the weight because you are gaining muscle tone (what we DO want)! It is as simple as that! So please please PLEASE (with a cherry on top), STOP worrying about what the scale says, and start listening to what your clothes say…or your significant other, friends, family…you get the picture! 🙂

About Kat

If I had to choose one word to describe myself, it would be eclectic. I like a little bit of everything and I do a little bit of everything. :) Some of my current favorite things to do are: spend time with my husband and daughters, work my home based business (http://rippedwraps.myitworks.com), play with makeup and nail polish, work out (pilates, Jillian Michaels DVDs & pole dance/fitness), play Halo Reach & Zombies (COD) on xbox 360, living on the lake & blogging! I love my family more than life itself...and I will guard and protect them with my life. I've also learned to start standing up for myself (thanks to one of my mentors!) and tell people to back off when they try to hurt me or my family. My childhood abuse no longer defines me, thanks to my Savior Jesus Christ...and as a result of giving ALL parts of my life to Him, I have more peace and joy than I can ever remember having!

Posted on March 6, 2011, in Fitness, Pilates. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

