Why I hate scales

I constantly see women obsessing over the scales….I just wanted to give a different way to keep track of progress. Everyone is different, of course, but for me personally this is my experience.

I’m 5’2″. Yeah, I’m short 😛 If I don’t workout or eat well, I weigh 110 or so. My waist is 26 inches around, I’m a size 5 and I do not look or feel my most fit/toned. However, if I start up my pilates & pole dance/fitness regularly and eat a CLEAN diet of 1200 calories (or more) per day, this changes. I actually GAIN weight from the muscle I am building–I weigh around 113-116…but my inches go DOWN. My waist is 24 inches & I’m a size 3. So for me, I couldn’t care less about the numbers on the scale!

I measure myself once a month, maybe twice. I do both pilates & pole at home, never stepped foot in a gym! I hate Cardio, but I do it anyway…HIIT, maybe 3-4 times a week.

This has been my experience for 2 1/2 years. I look my best with a 24 inch waist, but I weigh more by 3-6 lbs. Crazy, but its how my body works.

Here is my challenge to you who are frustrated with the scale: ditch it for a week or two. Get a tape measure. Do some pilates. (I recommend Cassey on YouTube, search for “POP PILATES”). watch your size shrink! Isn’t that what we all want, to be smaller & toned? That is always measured in INCHES, not always in pounds. Pilates + Cardio will easily accomplish this. Ditch the scale & try it!!!

Happy Thanksgiving!

About Kat

If I had to choose one word to describe myself, it would be eclectic. I like a little bit of everything and I do a little bit of everything. :) Some of my current favorite things to do are: spend time with my husband and daughters, work my home based business (http://rippedwraps.myitworks.com), play with makeup and nail polish, work out (pilates, Jillian Michaels DVDs & pole dance/fitness), play Halo Reach & Zombies (COD) on xbox 360, living on the lake & blogging! I love my family more than life itself...and I will guard and protect them with my life. I've also learned to start standing up for myself (thanks to one of my mentors!) and tell people to back off when they try to hurt me or my family. My childhood abuse no longer defines me, thanks to my Savior Jesus Christ...and as a result of giving ALL parts of my life to Him, I have more peace and joy than I can ever remember having!

Posted on November 24, 2011, in Diet/Food, Fitness, Jillian Michaels, Pilates, Pole Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

