Healthy Snacking!

I’m on day 18 of the Blogilates 90 day challenge meal plan. Cassey Ho at Blogilates designed the meal plan off of the Eat Clean Diet, specifically the Fitness Competitor “Cutting” diet plan, by Tosca Reno. I have learned a lot over the past 18 days, and I’m glad to say I’ve discovered a few new (to me) snacks that I will ALWAYS have from now on!

  • FRUIT. Of course this is at the top of my list…These are easily apart of my desserts now, as well as my pre-workout morning snack! Sliced up apples are my favorite. Apples, bananas, blueberries, grapes, cantaloupe, kiwi…the list is long! I’ve discovered that over-ripe bananas actually make an amazing ice cream too! (Recipe HERE!)
  • NUTS. Almonds, pistachios, walnuts, sunflower seeds, brazil nuts, cashews, hazelnuts….another long list here! Avoid nuts that are overly processed or are covered in salt. Being processed  destroys a lot of the nutrients. Look at the list of ingredients on the package…if it says anything other than the actual nuts, move on! “Raw” or “natural” on the bag is usually a good place to start.
  • VEGGIES. Raw celery, carrots, broccoli are great for on-the-go. My all-time-favorite is SWEET POTATOES!!! I slice them up, coat them in a little bit of coconut oil and BAKE the slices for 20 mins on 425°F. I will probably eat a sweet potato every day for the rest of my life since I discovered this slice-and-bake deliciousness. Seriously–go TRY it!!!

  • YOGURT. Greek low- or non-fat yogurt is the best! My favorite brand is Chobani. They have smaller 6 oz cups with fruit on the bottom. Tons of protein! If you are avoiding sugar in any form, go for plain greek yogurt. I also love getting a big container of plain greek yogurt to use in place of sour cream….yummmmm!
  • HUMMUS. Tons of protein, great for dipping veggies in!
  • GRAINS. Anything made of WHOLE grains is great. Try making your own granola bars (Recipe Example!) Whole grain toast is another thing I like to snack on in the mornings. (HERE is my favorite brand of bread!) Try making your own oatmeal cookie snack, like THIS. Or tasty banana muffins made of whole grains! I really enjoy these high protein yogurt oatmeal pancakes
  • OTHER. Hard boiled eggs are very easy for on-the-go. Cottage cheese is great– I eat 1/2 cup at the end of the day. This is a great snack when you are building muscle. (If the texture weirds you out but you still wanna give it a go, sprinkle some sunflower seeds in it.)

I hope this post was helpful 🙂 What are YOUR favorite clean/healthy things to snack on?

About Kat

If I had to choose one word to describe myself, it would be eclectic. I like a little bit of everything and I do a little bit of everything. :) Some of my current favorite things to do are: spend time with my husband and daughters, work my home based business (http://rippedwraps.myitworks.com), play with makeup and nail polish, work out (pilates, Jillian Michaels DVDs & pole dance/fitness), play Halo Reach & Zombies (COD) on xbox 360, living on the lake & blogging! I love my family more than life itself...and I will guard and protect them with my life. I've also learned to start standing up for myself (thanks to one of my mentors!) and tell people to back off when they try to hurt me or my family. My childhood abuse no longer defines me, thanks to my Savior Jesus Christ...and as a result of giving ALL parts of my life to Him, I have more peace and joy than I can ever remember having!

Posted on December 4, 2011, in Diet/Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Great article! Plus a HUGE THANK YOU for the link to the healthy energy bars… I have been looking for a recipe with no added sugar for ages!

  2. You are quite welcome! I loooove granola bars! I agree, it is hard to find any without added sugar or junk. Glad it was helpful 🙂

  3. pilates evolution now

    How are you going with it all! The power of having snacks on you at all times is SO good for keeping your diet in check especially when you are changing what you eat dramatically as usually when we don’t have what we SHOULD be eating on hand we go back to what we SHOULDNT as its familiar! Love your blog, keep it up x

  4. This sounds great, thank you. Do you have any more nutritional information?
    – Claire
    thrift savings plan

  5. Banana protein muffins are one of my favorites and (sounds weird) but meat muffins! You use ground chicken, apples, rosemary and a few other things and bake in muffin tins so they are portable! LOVE THEM!!!!

Leave a Reply

