My Favorite Prenatal Stretches & Poses!

(I posted this over on my pregnancy blog, check it out HERE!)

Overall, I have felt great this pregnancy. Fatigue has been minimal, I haven’t had many achy days and I’ve been able to keep up with my young daughters!

I have noticed my hips feeling tighter and some swelling in my feet over this past week. I think the swelling was from not drinking my normal 3-4 liters of water per day, and in turn retaining fluid…with all the 4th of July busyness, I slacked off big time with staying hydrated and the swelling began!

Anyhow! These have been my favorite, very low-impact, prenatal go-to stretches/poses in the late 2nd trimester & early 3rd trimester! (ZUMBA was my form of cardio before we moved… I went 3 times a week with my sister in law and LOVED it!)

PLANKS. I have always loved various forms of planks, pregnant or not! Be sure you have proper form, and hold a plank for as long as you can. Start at 30 seconds, and try to hold plank pose for a little longer each time. This is GREAT for keeping all of your core strong! Your abs & back need to be supportive for your growing baby.

PIGEON POSE. This deep yoga stretch is AMAZING for releasing tension in the hips and low back.

DEEP SQUAT. This one is also great for opening the hips!

LIZARD POSE. Another one for tight hips. This also gives a good stretch in the legs!

LEGS UP THE WALL. I discovered this one after I noticed my feet were swelling. After drinking a great deal of water, I sat in this one for 20 mins, twice a day. Start with sitting next to a wall. Lay on your back and “sit” on the wall. (Get your booty up against the wall like you’re sitting on it.) Legs go straight up the wall, side-by-side. This gets the feet/ankles elevated and helps any swelling go down.

Image

Hopefully this is some help to other pregnant women! 🙂

About Kat

If I had to choose one word to describe myself, it would be eclectic. I like a little bit of everything and I do a little bit of everything. :) Some of my current favorite things to do are: spend time with my husband and daughters, work my home based business (http://rippedwraps.myitworks.com), play with makeup and nail polish, work out (pilates, Jillian Michaels DVDs & pole dance/fitness), play Halo Reach & Zombies (COD) on xbox 360, living on the lake & blogging! I love my family more than life itself...and I will guard and protect them with my life. I've also learned to start standing up for myself (thanks to one of my mentors!) and tell people to back off when they try to hurt me or my family. My childhood abuse no longer defines me, thanks to my Savior Jesus Christ...and as a result of giving ALL parts of my life to Him, I have more peace and joy than I can ever remember having!

Posted on July 10, 2013, in Pilates and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the great pose ideas! I’ve been meaning to add in some planks and I bet the wall sit pose will come in handy later in my pregnancy 🙂

    xo adAstra

Leave a Reply

